Another Step Back

by Ven

Today I heard back from a company who interviewed me earlier this week. I didn’t get the job.

This is the second time I’ve applied for a position, reached the second or third stage and failed to progress any further. The irony of it is, the first job I applied for? They advertised it as a means to boost confidence. But the reason they decided not to hire me was because I wasn’t confident enough.

I do feel demotivated. I’m not at all surprised though; this second application I had a strong feeling I wouldn’t get the job. Statistics do show that people with HFA (High Functioning Autism) don’t succeed as much as neurotypical applicants.

It just means I have to work that much harder – and please don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining! Self-development is something I love to do. But I worry about how I’ll get and hold a career in the future, and what will happen once I end up unemployed again.

The first step is to locate the areas for improvement and come up with a plan to improve upon them. That I have autism does not mean I’m 100% unemployable, and I refuse to allow it to commandeer my chances of success! I’ll start by getting the feedback from both employers. But first I need to finish re-organizing my coursework.

I’ll let you know how it goes.

Cheers,

Ven

